Picture
So this morning started off with a bang.  There was one donation overnight, but I also received an offer that for Black Friday, an anonymous donor was willing to offer a match up to a total of $250, which means if we get $250 donated, he'll match it and we'll wind up with $500, or any portion thereof.  We have done this while volunteering at NPR and it has been wildly successful, so I'm hoping maybe some folks will step forward on Black Friday and take just a minute from their shopping and drop off just a buck. 

I also received a donation today from a young lady who gave up one of her horseback riding lessons just so she could send us a beautiful donation.  I was so moved by a young person making that kind of sacrifice for us, and it helped cement my determination.  I also received a letter from a young woman in college who has decided with the student leadership team at the school that they will hold a campus fundraiser for us.  I am hopeful that they are able to do so and are able to be successful, but am thankful even just for the thought.

Later on today I started to receive feedback from some of my inner circle about this project.  It was difficult to hear some of what they had to say, because the fact is, I didn't disagree with it.  But I guess because I am stuck between a rock and a hard place, I really have to go with my gut and do what in my heart I think is the right thing to do.  I heard from some other members of my inner circle a couple of days ago who also disagreed with my decision making on this matter and offered up their suggestions.  I keep replaying the phone calls and emails in my head and thinking "What if they're right?"  "Does this make me a bad mom?"  "Should I just cut my losses and leave?"  "Could I have done something different or better?"  "Don't I give people enough credit for what they can do, or do I just feel alone even if I'm not?"  "Is this a bad idea?"

I don't know.  That's the honest answer.  I don't know the answer to all those questions.  I started out doing this project not really expecting it to go anywhere.  It's been successful beyond my wildest expectations.  I now dream that maybe if we actually succeed at saving Leah's house, we could go on to help other people in similar circumstances--people who don't know what to do and where to go.  I'm already thinking of ways to pay it forward and give back.

I sat and talked with my dad tonight, who is also not fully in support of this project. I explained to him all that I was going through and how I was feeling and how hard it was to cope with anything.  He spent 4 hours with Leah today and she ran him ragged.  She was so excited to have her grandfather here.  But at the end of the evening when he said he needed to go to the grocery store, she started screaming and crying that she didn't want him to leave her.  Not in a "it's fun having PopPop here" kind of way, but in an "Oh my God, you're leaving and never coming back, what am I going to do?!" kind of way.  After talking with him about all that and more, he realized that this isn't simply a dollars and cents issue, but it is an issue of safety and security and routine and love, and he isn't able to provide the money that we would need to finish this off.  He now understands that while I'm trying to grieve, I'm trying to manage a grieving child, and receiving calls every day from the banksters is not helping with my mental and emotional state.

Out of deference and respect, and in hopes of maybe soothing some of the hurt that's been caused, I've made a few changes to the site.  I'm removing my husband's information from the site.  I don't feel right about including his information as well as the information about Leah and me.  I feel badly enough including Leah, but let's face it, if my ugly mug were on the front page, I wouldn't probably get a dime!  I have also scaled back the goal of the project from paying off the mortgages to simply getting the mortgages current and paying off the second mortgage, leaving me with the first.  As I sat and listened to my inner voice, it did tell me that maybe I was being a little bit greedy, and I've ready some comments on people's Facebook that said, "She wants how much!?"  The money I'd still like to raise is a lot, and if we go above, maybe I'll go back to the original estimate, but I think I'd be more than satisfied with just paying off the second mortgage, telling Citi to take a hike and hoping against hope that Homeward is going to help me out.

I hope that these small steps will assuage some of the fear and pain and other feelings that may have arisen, which I unwittingly caused and which I deeply, deeply regret.  I spent the entire day crying and feeling like the lowest piece of garbage on the face of the Earth.  Around 4:30, the doorbell rang and the flowers in the above picture arrived.  They had a beautiful message on them about how I needed a secret Santa too and now I have one.  I collapsed against my dad and sobbed uncontrollably, which scared Leah, who was not convinced when Dad said, "Mommy is crying because she's happy."  In my haste to care for my child, I often neglect myself, and it is so comforting that someone out there is maybe watching out for me and so many of you are cheering me on.

With sincere gratitude,
Susan

HeidiA
11/21/2012 11:45:04 am

Susan,

I lost my father when I was 11 and my mom was a stay at home mother who was now raising 4 children alone. I remember the worries (although I didnt' truly understand what they were at the time) about how to pay for the mortgage, the bills, keep her kids healthy and as happy as possible without a father.

I can only imagine how comforting it would have been for her to have someone willing to help out with the home if it was needed. Having one less thing to worry about in a time that is so very overwhelming, would be a blessing. No one will ever know what its like until they go through it themselves, a situation like this.

We all want to believe that we can do everything on our own, but sometimes its just nice to know that we have people we can count on. To me, it would make the world a better place.

I am proud of you for what you are doing and how much you are putting yourself out there. It is not easy...I know. If one child can have more stability in their lives, then the world is, in fact, a better place! keep up the good work and please let this comment put a smile on your face, not a tear :-)

With love,
Heidi

Reply
11/21/2012 01:11:20 pm

Hi, Kate,
I think what you are doing is wonderful. Don't mind the people who happen to have a different opinion to you - wouldn't life be boring if we were all the same! I can see that scaling down your goal is a good idea - $300 000 is a hell of a lot of money. Crikey, even the amount you need to get current on your loans is still a lot of money and if you can raise that, then the stress will lift off your shoulders and you will feel a lot better.

I'm not sure that I like the fact that some Mike stuff has been removed from the page, simply because he was Leah's dad, your husband and an awesome person and, truly, part of this. I think people ought know what a great guy he was, how he managed to support his Cookies on his salary and how much he loved you all, and, because of that, how much you and Leah are grieving.

When you start off with something like this project, you never really know how it is going to go. When you do work it out, then, as you have done, it's often time to sit down for a reassessment (e.g. removing Mike's info, and dropping your goal amount down). I don't know why you are feeling like garbage - if other people don't like what you are doing, then they don't have to. They also don't have to donate, don't have to share your link, and don't have to hang around. I hope you have, so far, raised enough money to keep some of the banks off your back. I was delighted to see the youtube post of you paying getting one of your debts current and paying that amount in full. That made me smile so hard.

I love you heaps, Kate, and when I spy you on Skype, I will be calling!!! I just wish you could give a hug via Skype, too, cause I have a big one here waiting for you. xo Chin up, darling. You are an awesome person.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Susan Kosior is a widow and mother anxious to secure her daughter's future.  In her spare time, she students library science at the University of Arizona and signs with the Stafford Regional Choral Society.  She is an active member of MOPS and loves being a mom more than anything.

    Archives

    December 2012
    November 2012

    Categories

    All
    Donations
    Feedback
    Gratitude
    Set Up