Picture
So overnight, I got my first submission on the "contact us" form from a young lady named Amanda Zopt, who stated:

Hello,

I'm sorry about the misfortunes going on in your life. I wish you and your beautiful girl the best of luck.


However, I must comment that I cannot donate to your cause because you are not working. You can get some assistance to put your daughter in daycare while you work either day shift or night shift and finish your masters opposite of your work schedule.


I have been working through two jobs and going to law school full time so that I can have a better future! I'm not going to contribute to someone who won't work to help pay off your debt.


I'm sorry but I had to tell you how I feel.


Good Luck,


Amanda

[email protected]


I'm not sure if Amanda is a real person or someone hiding behind a name, but I do feel that this is a valid email and a valid point.  I am not, however, sure if she ever read the entire website.

In the past year, we burned through our savings with mishap after mishap costing us approximately $18,300.  Had those things not happened, I would be paying our mortgage right now out of that savings.  The fact is, we were able to come through all that without one dime of credit card debt.  We have always been responsible with money, and to date, I have not accrued one dime of credit card debt.  All of my other bills are current--our utilities are not in danger of being shut off, our taxes are current, insurance is paid for.  Because the fact is that I have been extremely responsible during this time.  I haven't spent any money I didn't have and taken frivolous vacations, bought new clothes, I'm still driving the same old beater I was.  The fact is, the only income I am receiving right now is Social Security, and if I return to work, I lose that as well.  And while it isn't much, compared to a job I could quickly and easily get (checker at Walmart, for instance), it's a heck of a lot.

I have not yet paid for Mike's funeral expenses.  The funeral home has been extremely kind and patient with the process.  Thank you, Mullins and Thompson, and especially Todd Gerace.

I am working with a financial planner, Jeff Smith at The Insurance Smith.  Not only is he helping me with the present issues I am facing, he's helping me in planning for the future. 

I am working with the banks to modify my home loan.  Unfortunately, the banks do NOT make this process easy.  They claim that I have sent paperwork in with ink that doesn't fax properly, that I got my birthday wrong on the paperwork, that I didn't submit the modification form (again, who submits modification paperwork and doesn't submit the form!?), that the other bank's name was not on the mortgage statements I provided.  As soon as the modification is complete, I will begin to make payments again provided this doesn't work.  If we're only part way to the goal of erasing my mortgage, I will match every dollar people are generous enough to give me.

I am not the mother of a typical 3 year old.  I am the mother of a 3 year old whose father died in front of her.  She is seeing a wonderful counselor at Mary Washington Hospice to get help with her anxiety, grief, and separation issues, but she literally gets hysterical if I go to the bathroom and dare to shut the door.  I send her to pre-school 3 days a week, and lately they've had to pry her off my leg.  Sending her to day care is not an option right now.  Anyone with half a heart and a little human compassion should be able to understand that.

I'm not angry with people who come and don't donate, I'm not even angry with Amanda, whoever she is.  I just ask that you please don't judge me until you've walked in my shoes.  I hate that I have resorted to this, and it is extremely humbling to have received nearly $4000 in less than 24 hours and to know that people are taking a chance on me and my daughter.

All I can ask is that you donate a dollar and share the link or spread the tag #saveleahshouse or you just go about your business and leave us to ours.

Thank you so much.



Heather Mihok
11/19/2012 09:55:11 pm

Well said. *hugs*

Reply
Lady Ozma
11/20/2012 12:37:26 am

And thus, the Zopt Dollar was born.

Thanks for standing by your principles, Amanda. We'll donate for you.

Reply
Beth Johnston
11/20/2012 06:31:24 am

If you knew Mike, you know he'd do anything for anyone, right down to his last dollar. By helping Leah and Susan, I honor Michael, all that he was and stood for. This is what life is about, not to judge or even understand, but to give and love.

Reply
Coby
11/20/2012 10:45:22 am

Well. There are all sorts of snarky things I would like to say, but my parents raised me to believe "The Lord loves a cheerful giver." So with a smile on my face I'll make another donation.

Oh yeah, in case you're reading: not cool, Amanda.

Reply
Mom
11/21/2012 06:33:03 pm

I have another $25 in my wallet for you for the "Black Friday Matching"... I'll give it to you when I come up next week... or do you want it through PayPal? Love you... and no, I'm not supoosed to tell you who gave the $$$

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Susan Kosior is a widow and mother anxious to secure her daughter's future.  In her spare time, she students library science at the University of Arizona and signs with the Stafford Regional Choral Society.  She is an active member of MOPS and loves being a mom more than anything.

    Archives

    December 2012
    November 2012

    Categories

    All
    Donations
    Feedback
    Gratitude
    Set Up