Day One

11/19/2012

1 Comment

 
Picture
So, it's 9pm.  I posted the link to Facebook around 3 o'clock this afternoon with grave reservations as to whether or not this would actually work.

My friends immediately picked up the story and ran with it, posting it around Facebook like wildfire.  As of this evening, I have had 43 of my 286 friends post the link to their Facebook and several have gone to town on Twitter with it as well.  Of those, I know a number who have had friends re-post, so we are definitely on our way!  As of the time of this writing, we are at just about $2700 received, and I am now able to bring my CitiBank mortgage current.  I plan to transfer the funds in the morning, call CitiBank, and bring my account to date. 

There have been several large donations from friends, one for $1000 and one for $500.  Those moved me to great gulping sobs and tears, as those donors were so generous when Mike died that the idea of their generosity now to that extent is enormous and overwhelming.  Thank you so much.

I have received 3 or 4 $1 donations, which is what I expected to get more of--and those have made me smile so much.  I feel the spirit of what I asked being sent through in those dollar bills, and it's so moving to get those donations.  Thank you so much.

I have also accepted a friend's offer to be Leah's secret Santa this year.  Said friend took down colors, sizes, interests, and promised to make her Christmas extra special.  I believe it.  The love that this little girl should feel from all around us is nothing short of extraordinary.  Thank you so much.

Last night, I had reached a breaking point.  I literally sat on the floor, my body wracked with sobs, and I just started screaming, "I can't do this!"  I scared myself, and I scared Leah.

Tonight, I have hope in my heart.  I can go to sleep secure in knowing that we have at least some relief and I just feel hopeful that more is coming our way.  People have given me such good ideas about different avenues to try and I've received so many messages of love.  It's been extraordinary.

Thank you to all who have either donated or passed our link along.  I am proud that you have chosen to send even a dollar my way.  It is humbling to be trusted with even a penny of someone else's money and while I am dedicated to ensuring that the money is spent only as you all would like, and to the idea of helping others in the future, I am mindful of the fact that first and foremost, you are choosing to help that sweet little girl who some of you don't even know, and who may never know the full extent of what you have done for her.  I will endeavor to do all I can to ensure her gratitude moving forward.

With gratitude,
Susan Kosior

Heidi Hitchman-Hartmann
11/19/2012 10:50:36 am

Thoughts and love sent your way!

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Susan Kosior is a widow and mother anxious to secure her daughter's future.  In her spare time, she students library science at the University of Arizona and signs with the Stafford Regional Choral Society.  She is an active member of MOPS and loves being a mom more than anything.

    Archives

    December 2012
    November 2012

    Categories

    All
    Donations
    Feedback
    Gratitude
    Set Up